Here's the 2023 Evansville All-City football team, headlined by Bosse's quarterback

Kyle Sokeland
Evansville Courier & Press

EVANSVILLE — The 84th annual Evansville Downtown Quarterback Club All-City football team was announced Monday.

Elijah Wagner of Bosse was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Year. Cory Brunson of Reitz was named the Gary West Coach of the Year. The team is voted on by City players while the coaching honor is voted on by City coaches.

Wagner was one of the more electrifying players in Southern Indiana this fall. The senior quarterback led the Southern Indiana Athletic Conference with 2,158 passing yards and 21 touchdowns. He was even better at making plays with his legs with a conference-best 1,671 rushing yards and 20 scores.

Bosse’s Elijah Wagner (5) passes as the Bosse Bulldogs play the Harrison Warriors at Enlow Field in Evansville, Ind., Friday, Oct. 13, 2023.

He ended the regular season first in Indiana in total yards and led an offense that averaged 32.4 points per game. Wagner is the first Bosse player to earn All-City Player of the Year since Jalen Pendleton in 2011.

"I think I did great for what position the coaches had me in," said Wagner. "Getting my teammates the ball and running as good as I could. This is another great opportunity for me. I'd definitely thank all the players who voted for me. Getting me the recognition that I can use for me and beyond."

High school football in SW Indiana:Complete coverage from the 2023 season

This was the second straight season Brunson was voted the City Coach of the Year. Reitz completed back-to-back undefeated regular seasons — a first for the program since 2009-10 — and won the SIAC by three full games.

The Panthers finished 11-1 with a loss in the sectional championship.

"This senior class helped Reitz get back going," said Brunson. "We came up a little short both years in the tournament but definitely pleased. They came ready to play every game. There's some things we need to get better at but definitely overall a good year."

The 2023 Evansville All-City football team.

Front row: Quentin Boeke, Ben Brasher, Delshan Davis, Andrew Jones, Timmy Dixon, Hayden Summers.

Second row: Luke Ellspermann, Troy Davis, Elijah Wagner, Cainen Northington, Porter Rode, Roland Vera Jr.

Third row: Calab Utley, Jayden Hazelwood, Levi Oxley, Kaleb Harris, Alex Broshears

Back row: JJ Lowery, AJ Coates, Royal Elliott, Ayden Wells, Wyatt Stratman, Arron Finott
Evansville All-City football selections by position

Center: Delshan Davis (North)

Guard: Ben Brasher (North), Andrew Jones (Memorial)

Tackle: Quentin Boeke (Reitz), Timmy Dixon (North)

Wide receiver: Roland Vera Jr (Reitz), Luke Ellspermann (Memorial), Hayden Summers (Reitz)

Quarterback: Elijah Wagner (Bosse)

Running back: Cainen Northington (North), Troy Davis (Reitz), Porter Rode (Memorial)

Defensive line: Jayden Hazelwood (North), Calab Utley (Reitz), Levi Oxley (Reitz), Kaleb Harris (North)

Linebacker: Royal Elliott (Bosse), Ayden Wells (Reitz), A.J. Coates (Reitz), Alex Broshears (Memorial)

Defensive back: Arron Finott Jr. (Bosse), Wyatt Stratman (Mater Dei), JJ Lowery (Memorial)

Follow Courier & Press sports reporter Kyle Sokeland on X (formerly Twitter) @kylesokeland.